Award for the Young Art Critic

The Prijs voor de Jonge Kunstkritiek is an encouragement for a new generation critics and essayists from the Dutch-Flemish language area who write about contemporary art. The award offers young art critics an opportunity to expand their talents and stimulates a professional career. The award shines a light upon young talent and gives them room to present themselves via a bigger platform.

The award is open to talent below the age of 35 and will be rewarded in the categories: essay, review and innovative critic. In addition to the cash prize in each category, the winners are offered a personal mentor who will guide them a intensively for a year, helping them in making choices and realizing new critical work. In addition practical beneficiaries are provided by partners of the award: realized in a residency, masterclass, working space or a specific writing assignment. The winning texts will be published in collaboration with the media partners.

In 2008 Christophe van Gerrewey was awarded for both his essay as for his review. In 2010 the winners were Thijs Lijster (essay) and Lynne van Rhijn (review). In 2012 Roos van der Lint (essay), Joke de Wolf (review) and Marieke Ladru (internet critic) were the winners of the award. In 2014 were Sarah Késenne (essay) and Laurens Otto (review) awarded and in 2016 Laurie Cluitmans (Essay) and Brenda Tempelaar (Review).

The Prijs voor de Jonge Kunstkritiek is an initiative of the Mondriaan Fund, de Appel arts centre Amsterdam and Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art Rotterdam in collaboration with Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, STUK – House for Dance, Image and Sound Leuven, M HKA – Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp and Van Abbemuseum Eindhoven. With the award they want to invest in a future of a high-end art discourse that – without the loss of quality – will also be available to readers with less expertise concerning the subject. In 2016 the award will be supported by the following (media)partners: De Groene Amsterdammer, Knack, H_ART, Metropolis M, Recto:Verso, Tubelight, Exhibitionist, AICA Nederland, Domein voor Kunstkritiek and De Nieuwe Garde.

See for more information.

 Logo's PJKK